Sophia Shear’s blog for inspiration on beauty tips, healthy recipes, and overall wellness.

If you are that college kid who never can find the time in their busy schedule to fuel their body with nutritious food, I’m with you and I want to offer my best tips to bettering this habit.

We all know what it’s like to be in a rush and have only a few minutes to grab something to eat, all while being starving in between whatever your day may bring to you. Sometimes, what is in arms’ reach isn’t always the best thing for your body. This is not a hard habit to get into, but when trying to complete a busy schedule, we must be fueling our bodies with what we need to provide ourselves with energy.

Food is fuel; food is what gives us energy and makes us feel good. Eating a sustainable diet of protein, fruits and vegetables can provide your body with what it needs to succeed.

Today, I am going to share with you ways that I fit in eating nutritious foods with a busy schedule.

  • Plan Accordingly.

Balancing school, school-related activities and a job makes it hard for me to not just run through the drive-through of a fast-food restaurant. And while that’s perfectly fine here and there, it is not realistic keeping your body energized. So, I like to plan accordingly.

One of the ways that I do this is I grocery shop! And while that may be obvious, I plan with the foods that I get. For example, If I know that it is going to be a busy week with classes, work, homework, I will buy pre-made salads, pre-cut fruit bowls, smoothies, pretty much anything that I can stick in my fridge. This way, it makes it even easier when on the go, I can just grab a healthy option out of my fridge.

  • Eat Breakfast.

You know what they say–breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

I relate this to self-care because as college students, we must try to take as best care of ourselves as we can amid everything that we have going on. To do so, we must fuel our bodies from the start of the day until the end. For reference, if you need ideas of what kinds of things you could keep around for breakfast, I could make a separate post for recipes. Let me know in the comments if that is something you’d like for me to share with you!

  • Eat When You Are Hungry.

Food is a major contribution to taking care of your body. When practicing self-care, we must prioritize fueling our bodies. While in college it may not always be the easiest thing to accomplish, sometimes we just can’t do it all. However, my challenge to you is to try to prioritize your food. I promise you will notice a big change in the way that you feel! Let me know below If you’ve attempted any of my tips.

Remember, food is fuel!


4 responses to “Why I Consider Food to be a Huge Part of Self Care”

  1. micahb03 Avatar

    You’re so right – it can be really hard to find time to eat at college, especially when it comes to breakfast. It can also be hard to eat well in the caf sometimes lol. Great post!

    Like

  2. chrisfergie03 Avatar

    This article was very helpful to me. A lot of the time, I struggle to eat when I NEED to, and at proper times. I also struggle to eat HOW I need to, and the planning part I find very wise, as it can help lead to healthier eating!

    Like

  3. ashlenjones Avatar

    I never thought about how your body is fasting when you go to sleep. I know we all talk about how breakfast is the most important part of the day, but I think it’s important to break that fast. I love your title! I don’t usually think of food as self care but I do now!

    Like

  4. iamcginnis Avatar

    I totally agree. Food is so important to the body especially consistently throughout the day. As a student athlete it is even hard at times but I have to continue to fuel and train my body to get what it needs.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started