Sophia Shear’s blog for inspiration on beauty tips, healthy recipes, and overall wellness.

Practicing self-care in your morning routine is a beneficial way to prioritize yourself and get a good start on your day. Here are some of the steps that I love to add into my routine.

  1. Start by not picking up your phone. Instead, start with your favorite devotional or anything that has positive affirmations for you.

This way, you are starting your day off with words of encouragement.

This also allows time with yourself. Time to be alone and have a minute before the day begins.

2. Making a list of everything you want to achieve that day.

One of my favorite ways to stay on track is making a list. If you know that it will be a busy day, you can feel more ready knowing exactly what you have to do, and you can check things off as you go.

This is a beneficial way to start your day because you are becoming prepared, and you will be less stressed about what you have to do during the day.

3. It may sound cheesy, but beginning your day with going on a walk is extremely beneficial.

Starting your day with an easy walk can quickly boost your energy, preparing you to be alert for the rest of your day. Especially if the sun is out, this can boost your mood as well.

4. Food

You’re probably confused, because food is a very broad point in self-care. However, I believe that it could be one of the most beneficial additions to your routine.

Implementing a good, high-in-protein breakfast can kick start your day, leaving you with lasting energy for hours.

Breakfast is definitely the most important meal of the day in my opinion. For example, even if you don’t have much time in the morning, a quick protein smoothie will do just the trick. Self-care is all about making small changes to better your overall health.

5. Keeping a journal

Positivity really does make a difference in your day.

6. Take a minute to do something that you love.

I know what you are thinking, that your mornings are hectic and you don’t have all of the time in the world.

However, this can be something as small as going to your favorite coffee shop or making your own coffee at home and taking a second to enjoy it.

Sometimes when we take just a few moments to ourselves, we can calm down and the course of the day can be changed.

7. Music

This goes hand-in-hand with the daily devotional. Writing down positive affirmations and reasons to have gratitude in your life will start your day on a more positive note.

It is obvious that music makes everything better. But it can also help calm someone. Playing your favorite calming playlist or podcast in the morning while getting ready for your day can make a significant change.

Try these out and notice a difference in your mornings and let me know how you felt!


3 responses to “7 Ways to Better Start your Day with Self-Care”

  1. foolishwargofmusiccity Avatar

    As a person that always starts the day by turning on his iPad, I found this post very helpful. I’m going to specifically try numbers 2 and 6. My semester has been extremely busy, and I have been struggling to stay on track. I also want to try staying off my phone and iPad more; number 6 might help me with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lydiascoper Avatar

    I love these self care tips! Some of these tips I already include in my self care routine but some of the others I need to work on. I loved the tip about starting your day with words of encouragement as well as the tip on making a list at the start of each day.

    – Lydia

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My Personal Favorite Ways of Staying Productive Throughout the Day – Shear self care Avatar

    […] have mentioned making lists in a previous post, but I really wanted to shed light on it again in this context. At the beginning of each week, I […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started